Winding Down

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

PHOTO 2016 BY ME [CATHY].

   There’s always that one time in your life where life throws you a curve ball. You have 3 tests happening tomorrow, a lab report due at midnight, 30 math problems to complete, and God knows what else you have. Regardless of each person’s unique situation, there is always that common bond: stress. Stress builds up as the afternoon and evening wear on, leaving you feeling anxious and stuck in a 6 foot hole with no way out.

I’ve been there before. It definitely wasn’t pretty. I’ve even had mental breakdowns, curling up into a ball, drowning in my sorrows, and chanting to myself, “I can’t do this.”

Luckily, I’ve gotten through those moments; what always helped me to calm down was nature. I would take a 10 minute break to look at nature, to look at the beautiful swaying trees, the fluffy clouds that would inch along ever so slowly in the deep blue sky. Their leisurely pace always helped me to calm down and take a step back.

While this method may work for me, it may not work for you. What truly matters is that you find your own personal method of relaxation. What helps you to reorganize yourself?

Leave a Reply

