Indulging

Sometimes, you just gotta indulge and be free. Let go of your inhibitions and grab that source of happiness before it’s gone forever.

This is one of those cases. Most people who know me know that I don’t eat at fast food places often. At most, I’ll visit In-and-Out or step into a Taco Bell 3-4 times a year. In my basketball team, we have a tradition of eating at a place called Volcano Burger every season we have our away game at the school across the street from it. It was just a really nice time to gather with my teammates and bond over burgers, fries, and shakes. This time, I got a cheeseburger with avocado and a vanilla shake. Words cannot describe the taste of the burger. It was so, so juicy and the meat was sizzling hot and bursting with flavor. The vanilla shake had this comforting sweetness to it that makes you feel like you’re on clouds.

Normally, I would shy away from fattening foods and stick to salads, grilled meats, and drinking water. I don’t even drink soda any more. But there’s happiness in eating these delicious foods while socializing with the teammates that have stuck by me for years. And why should I deprive myself of happiness?

Leave a Reply

